Getting Back Into It

Well hello there. If you haven’t noticed, it’s been a good 9 months since I’ve posted here. No, I didn’t have a kid (but wouldn’t that be such a kicker if I did?) I’ve gone through a lot of changes in the past 9 months, and I decided it would be fair (and hopefully interesting) to my loyal readership – all two of you – to give a little run down on what I’ve been up to. (And I’m also still obsessed with parenthesis. So. Sorry.)

Job Change

Part of the reason why I stopped writing is because I went through a major change with my work situation. The company I was working for, which I’ll name now – PerkStreet Financial – closed down in September of last year. Long story short, it was VC funded, the VCs decided they didn’t want to give anymore money, and we lost our funding.

Silver lining – I found another job as a social media and community manager at a super cool company called Grasshopper. I have a lot more creative control there, and I’m able to do a lot of stuff I didn’t have resources for in my role at PerkStreet. Also, I can still wear jeans to work and we do a lot of fun stuff in the office. Example: this video we just made for a work project. I also get to write for the blog occasionally – you can check out my posts here (please don’t judge my headshot – it’s awful).

Needless to say, I was super busy with that transition, and eyeball deep in figuring out how to handle social. Getting home at the end of the day after staring at a computer screen for 8 hours does not make for good motivation to write a blog post. So. There’s that.

Living Situation

Going along with getting a new job was getting a new apartment. Grasshopper is slightly farther from my parent’s house that PerkStreet was, however, PS was in the middle of Boston and could be accessed by public transportation. GH is outside the city and can sort of be accessed by public transportation, but not very easily from where I lived. So, on the quest for an apartment I went.

I successfully found an apartment about 20 minutes from the office, in a nice area close to a lot of stuff. It’s just the right size for me (The Boyfriend isn’t living with me yet) and my adorable cat that I adopted in February.

Sassy - the best cat ever.

Sassy – the best cat ever.

Her name is Sassy, and I got her from Black Cat Rescue, an amazing organization dedicated to finding homes for black cats, who have a bad rap and therefore are less likely to be adopted. As I’m writing this, she’s sitting on my lap wondering why I’m not giving her my full attention. Did I mention she’s also a diva?

Getting Physical

So, I’ve written a lot before about trying to become a runner. However, after stopping and starting several times, it’s time to admit: I HATE running. I don’t want to be a runner. Yes, I want to exercise and be healthy, but on my terms. Doing what I want to do. And that, my friends, is yoga.

Okay, I’ve only been to three classes. But after every class I find myself actually EXCITED for the next class. Like, looking forward to when I can go again, rather than dreading having to make myself go to the gym. Don’t get me wrong, I’m keeping my gym membership to use the machines and get my cardio in, but I don’t think I’ll step on the treadmill again unless it’s absolutely necessary.  Expect posts about my yoga journey – it’s pretty intense.

In the interest of time, the cat on my lap, and your waning attention span, I’m going to close this out. I’m hoping I’ll keep up with this – I enjoy writing, even if no one else is reading it. Til next time!

 

About MaryMallard

I'm obsessed with social media, good food, and my dog. I just want to leave a footprint in the world, no matter how small. I hope this blog entertains you, makes you think, or inspires you to try new things. If you have anything to say, don't hesitate to say it. And if there are ever truffle fries on a menu, order them.

Posted on April 5, 2014, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me something.

