Yoga Is My New Passion

This morning was my 6th yoga class, so you may be thinking it’s a little early to call it my new passion. Well, frankly, “passion” sounds better than “obsession”, so I’m going with that.

As I mentioned a couple posts ago, yoga is the first form of exercise that I actually LOOK FORWARD to doing. For reals. I don’t have to force myself to go, I don’t have to try and make an “if this, then that” type of reward (i.e. if I go to the gym, I can buy myself new headphones). I genuinely enjoy the classes, even though they’re SO HARD, and I feel really great after them. Well, I went to a 9:30am class this morning, so I needed a nap after, but I feel pretty great now.

This pose is called "Big Pile of Nope"

Right now this is a big pile of nope for me. 

It’s also started to push me in the direction of uncovering the spiritual side of the practice. Now, I’m totally not a spiritual person. I went to Catholic school for 12 years, which is mainly the reason why I’m not a practicing Catholic anymore. I just don’t agree with it. To be honest, I think most organized religion is a sham. I believe it makes much more sense for a person to embark on their own spiritual journey and find what is important to THEM, not just go along with what some entity tells them is important. But I digress.

Since my first class, I’ve had a desire to get to a place in my life that I feel the same off the mat as I do when I’m on it – calm, believing I can do things that I normally would be afraid to try, willing to push myself to, and sometimes past, limits that I believe are set for myself. I’d also like to have a better sense of well-being, and the ability to find joy and gratitude in every day events.

Right now, I feel a lot of stress in my life – admittedly from a lot of stupid stuff. I’d like to be able to move past that, and I feel like keeping with the practice of yoga can really help with that. Stay tuned for progress – consider this my post of intention.

Warrior > Worrier

Warrior > Worrier

About MaryMallard

I'm obsessed with social media, good food, and my dog. I just want to leave a footprint in the world, no matter how small. I hope this blog entertains you, makes you think, or inspires you to try new things. If you have anything to say, don't hesitate to say it. And if there are ever truffle fries on a menu, order them.

Posted on April 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me something.

